Plan a visit to one of our Museum
The Amity & Woodbridge Historical Society works with the Town of Woodbridge to manage two historic properties owned by the Town.
The Darling Family Homestead
1907 Litchfield Turnpike, Woodbridge, CT 06525
Built for Thomas Darling between 1772 and 1774, the Darling Family House is a Colonial Gambrel Cape style building with significant interior carved detail and spacious proportions. It is also historically important for its extended association with the Darling Family and remarkable for its excellent state of preservation. Added significance is derived from its historic agrarian setting, including fields, fine barns and other outbuildings. Taken together with the building contents, the Darling Family Homestead provides a vision of over 200 years in the life of an important Woodbridge family. The museum is free and open to the public during scheduled Open Houses and other events, as announced on our website and other media. Individual tours are also available without charge.
Tour The Darling House
Fill out our contact form with your preferred day, time, and contact information.
The Old South School
1181 Johnson Road, Woodbridge, CT 06525
Woodbridge boasts a surviving one-room school: the former Southeast District Schoolhouse on Johnson Road, built in 1877. After construction of Center School in 1929 it became our town’s first firehouse, and after that function also shifted to the Town center in 1938 it served other community purposes until a group of citizens called for its restoration and formed the South School Restoration Committee. An added firetruck bay was removed, the lost belfry and front porch were replicated, and the interior and the exterior were finished, largely through private donations and labor. The fully restored South School is regularly used by the Amity and Woodbridge Historical Society and Beecher Road School as an educational tool, allowing students to see how Woodbridge children learned and played over a hundred years ago.